Erased

This one’s an anime one! I watched and completed a 12 episode anime just over a week ago and I have been meaning to write a post on it, but just could never find the right time! Anyway, I am here now and have a bit to say!

For anyone who has not watched this anime, I will briefly explain, without spoiling 😉

maxresdefaultThe story follows Satoru Fujinuma, a man who somehow possesses an ability that sends him back in time moments before a life-threatening incident, allowing him to prevent it from happening. When someone he cares about is murdered by an unknown assailant, Satoru’s ability suddenly sends him back eighteen years to when he was still in elementary school, giving him the opportunity to prevent a kidnapping incident that took the lives of three of his childhood friends, and possible saving his future-self.

Before I jumped into the more in-depth review, I just want to throw my opinion out there. I personally thoroughly enjoyed this anime and I highly recommend it. It is tense and keeps a decent pace; every moment has you captured. Although it is only 12 episodes, the story is one that will feel like it lasts you a lifetime and I wouldn’t wish for more or less. That’s when you know its good; when you can appreciate everything about it.

Brief Review:

Not only was this anime visually satisfying to watch, but the darker twists I found to be intriguing and definitely pretty creepy. Something about a grown human killing kids for the pleasure twists my insides and makes the world seem wrong, but believe it or not, there are a lot more sickly things in this anime. I think the reality of this happening, the murders and other events that is, is what adds that extra punch of an effect that the plot has. I found myself to be angry, sad, sad-happy and completely tense while watching this anime. It is definitely one that I am proud to say I had the pleasure of watching!

The antagonists in this anime are really easy to like, but I found it harder to trust anyone immediately as this anime has you suspecting everyone! I did, however, have a decent idea who the killer was quite a while before it was revealed, but that is partly because I suspected ‘the killer’ (no pronoun give-aways!) because I personally found them to be suspicious. My suspicions briefly paused while all the action was happening with Kayo Hinazuki (the people who have watched the anime will understand). But to keep it short, I wasn’t exactly shocked when the killer was eventually revealed. It was just one of those ‘meh’ and ‘told you so’ moments; I instead was much more focussed on what was happening in that moment to be that surprised anyway.

The character developement in this anime was also done really well and there are definitely favourite scenes regarding this! 😉

When you watch this anime, which you really should do if you haven’t already, I bet you that you will grow fond of Kayo Hinazuki. I am not always one to grow fond particularly over female characters unless I can relate to them, but Kayo was an exception. I thought she would be laying on everything a bit thick, but I couldn’t be further from the truth.

erased

I think many of the characters in this anime deserve appreciation and some love, but if I were to write about everyone I grew fond of, I would run out of space! Plus, I’m too lazy to repeat the same things I admire about each character I liked. SO instead, some honourable mentions:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think that a lot can be learned from this anime. Besides the main plot, there are much darker things in this anime such as abuse, suicide and many forms of conflict. This anime brought these messages across full force and they came across as strongly as necessary to catch our emotions and throw them all over the place. I would definitely be more than happy to watch this anime again and strongly recommend it.

I could write much more, but I thought it best to keep it brief and to the point, like this anime. Not a lot needs to be said for you to want to watch it and I think the anime speaks louder than any review or description I could try to summon. Please do yourself a favour and also check out Irina’s review on Erased, it is a great read and fills you in on anything I didn’t! 😉

Well done for reading this far and I hoped you enjoyed! Have you watched this anime and did you enjoy it?

-Brittney ❤

5 thoughts on “Erased

  1. i really enjoyed watching erased and i think a lot of people guessed who the killer was too. i think the show made it obvious bc even i guessed it and oh boy i NEVER get it right xD great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Something about ‘too kind and generous teacher’ screams child killer to me? At least I feel better knowing I am not the only one with some trust issues and targeted suspicion in regards to this anime!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment